top of page
Search
  • elhamnejadmehr

Reflective Diary

Updated: Sep 11, 2021



Introduction

The idea of this project, came from my ever-present concern about animals. They lack many rights and freedom in their lives. We as humans should make the world a better place for all, including us and the whole animals, as well as to reduce violence, spreading different illnesses, carnage and greenhouse gases and improve animal welfare and comfort for all living creatures. “In spite of the variance in health and environmental outcomes assessed by the different reports, global studies have indicated that there would be both less degradation of ecosystems as well as population health benefits if current dietary patterns were replaced with vegetarian diets.” (Fresán and Sabaté, 2019) It has been always my concern from childhood, why we consume animal products instead of countless plant-based alternatives and behave inappropriately toward animals and kill them. All lives matter, every animal matter and unlike the past, we are not forced to kill in order to survive.

In the first semester, out of a number of suggested topics, I chose Green Kitchen project with the guidance of my professors. The majority of my time in this period was spent on research, literature review, possible solutions, setting up basic visual identities (e.g., logo, packaging). During the second term, the aim of my project was to raise the public’s awareness regarding the benefits of vegetarianism via multiple infographic designs. Finally, in the third semester, I decided to focus on children’s education as a means of creating a real change in people’s behavior in the long term. Encouraging children to avoid meat-based products, in my opinion, is the best way to achieve a long-lasting influence.



Literature review

I used this source to have a better understanding of the detrimental impact of meat consumption on the body and on the environment as well as, animal welfare and animal cruelty aspect. The majority of proposed solutions were regarding encouraging people to healthier diets.

Vegetarian diets (meat-free dietary patterns) are associated with reduced risks of many health conditions. Vegetarians have lower incidence of type 2 diabetes, obesity, coronary heart diseases, and other noncommunicable diseases, and greater life expectancy.” (Fresán and Sabaté, 2019)

Vegetarian dietary patterns can lead to good glycemic control in diabetes. The results of a meta-analysis assessing the effectiveness of vegetarian diets on glycated hemoglobin (HbA1c) suggest that these diets are beneficial for glycemic control among diabetics. (Salas-Salvadó, Becerra-Tomás, Papandreou, Bulló, 2019)



Design research module’s lectures

In my research process, I benefited from university lectures, which opened new aspects of design strategies and motivated me to think differently. The most significant reason to choose these lectures is which they all have concerns regarding our planet and sustainability areas and they strive to make a change as much as they are capable to solve or reduce the environmental issues that probably have irreparable consequences if not stopped. Furthermore, I am interested in their method of work which to some extend demonstrates their bright mindset and their communication abilities to refer their visual messages to their audiences which exists in their practice.


Culture is changing every day and modern humans have a different view compared with their ancestors. One major factor which can raise public awareness are visual elements which designers wisely, recognize, contemplate, investigate, identify and create them to be helpful.


In spite of the differences between all design aspects, many designers share a similar passion and mindset. Each designer tries to expand their visual outcome as much as they are able to. I benefited from several designers’ lectures, who work in different fields. However, what we have in common is striving in the field of social change, environmentally and sustainability concerns. In some areas we benefit from the same method of the work and I learned valuable lessons from their mindset, inspirations, methods and problem-solving abilities.


Interviewing experts

One way that a designer can achieve their goals, is interacting with other successful designers who have the same passion and concern and their work is powerful inspiration for us to achieve similar goals.

In this part I contacted more than two dozen of designers, and asked them about their design process, success, feedback and obstacles they faced, which can help me in my journey to build Green-Kitchen brand. Green Kitchen is striving to raise public’s awareness about harmful effects of meat-based products and encourage people to join the vegan or vegetarian society. This Virtual suggested brand includes Logo design with a slogan “Live Longer and Let Live Longer” to create a positive sense for people, Packaging Design for Vegan-based products, Shopping Bag Design that can carry vegan foods which people buy from Green-Kitchen and Infographic Design that could be extremely helpful for giving detailed information to people in this field.




Nopro’s Plant-Based Packaging Design for Kids Designed by Nopro’s Design Department Available from: www.nopro.ir



For example, Nopro industry in Iran is producing plant-based products with special design for children so that hopefully the next generation will pay more attention to this subject. This factory, inspired me to design special artwork for children. This approach could be more effective to achieve my goal as it is more convenient to raise children’s awareness rather than adults due to being more flexible on adopting a new lifestyle.


In another interview, Rebelco design studio designed in action for supporting animal rights and animal welfare movement. It was very impressive for me and made me think how vigorous could be design’s power.





Design for Action, Animal Cruelty Movement Designed by Rebelco Studio Available from: rebelco.design


The Questionnaire’s Results





Overall, most of the designers (%60) had made some kind of mistake in launching their work such as choosing the wrong brand’s name, writings or visual sense of logo. They mostly believe infographics are definitely helpful in this sector and I decided to focus on them more in my project. In addition, their performance for promotion has not been sufficient and considerably more focus is needed on this area.



My research journeys

In my first semester, there were some ideas in my mind which all were around the idea of social change. Gender discrimination, children’s cancer and reducing carbon emission were some of the ideas in my mind. With the aid of my professor Rachel Mozley, I chose “encouraging people to opt for veganism and vegetarianism using graphic design”. The majority of my time in the first semester was on literature review and collecting information regarding this field. The consequences of continuing the current path could be catastrophic, harmful effects on the environment, human health, carbon emission, animal cruelty are just a few negative effects of current trend. After gathering enough information, I reviewed successful companies and organizations in this sector and identified the most effective elements in their design including: packaging, color, shape, brand design and texture. In semester two, I had the opportunity to use some of this information and create a number of sample designs. I decided to implement my project as an imaginary café/restaurant. I chose a name for this brand called “Green Kitchen”, and I designed a logo for it. I did my best to implement all I learned in designing this logo to make it environmentally friendly. In the next step, I designed food packaging, shopping bags and posters to make this project as realistic as possible. Maybe even one day I actually open this restaurant myself.


All the infographic designs were created in two languages (English & Persian) so they can be used internationally as well as my own country, Iran. Promoting veganism & vegetarianism in my home country were one of the important reasons. All other Designs for instance Logo and Packaging Designs do not need to design in Persian as well. Because many products in Iran are in English language and people can understand simple words and sentences.

In my current semester (3nd), during my research journey, I came across an inspirational idea in a factory in my home country, Iran where they produce plant-based meat alternatives, particularly for children. I believed it could be very effective and impressive to educate the next generation in this area. Thus, I was motivated to design origamis and a magazine to raise children's awareness through fun and games.

Based on the additional research in this field, I designed a magazine targeted at children which teaches the concept of veganism and vegetarianism through fun games, illustrations, maze, crossword, etc. Also, each magazine will include an origami which can be cut and folded by children.

This magazine would be available in the Green Kitchen café and restaurant and also can be ordered online around the world. The magazine is designed in two versions (English & Persian) so it can be used in my home country, Iran as well.

In an effort to promote the brand more effectively, in the last page, I designed a prize coupon page that children could cut and collect them, with 10 of these coupons they can have one free meal in the Green Kitchen.



Conclusion

In this semester, I corresponded with several designers. In my personal research study, I achieved remarkable outcomes from the designers with similar plant-based experiences and passion, and all their advice and answers made me think outside the box and think differently about unprecedented situations and effective problem-solving methods in the project. Their smart decisions related to elements of the design, colours and constructure are all innovative for me as well and I am deeply interested in their effort regarding this global subject.

In my home country Iran, veganism and vegetarianism is a recently developed subject and needs significantly more attention. I identified some of the difficulties to raise this awareness in this situation, and it is a time-consuming process to change the culture.

On the other hand, in the lectures part I made many connections between different aspects of design. Some of the designers in the lectures have a common sense of humanitarianism which is my project’s aims. They do not look at the design as a medium for making profit, since they benefit from different design practices to drive social change including sustainability, animal welfare, environmental issues, etc. Also, some of them have the same method compared to my project, like inspiration from natural elements, simplicity in design and using texture for designing fascinating products.

The result of my investigation could definitely improve my Green-Kitchen project thank to remarkable information I obtained. Taking advantage of talented and successful designers’ experiences, was a brilliant opportunity in my project, because now I can figure out all the restrictions I may face and any mistake I may make and more well-planned methods to reach my aims.








Bibliography


Books

- Bestley, R., Noble, L. (2016). Visual Research: An Introduction to Research Methods in Graphic Design. 3rd edition. London: Bloomsbury Publishing.


- Mariotti, F. (2017). Vegetarian and Plant-Based Diets in Health and Disease Prevention. Elsevier Science & Technology.



Articles

- Bichler, K., Beier, S. (2016). Graphic Design for the Real World? Visual communication’s potential in design activism and design for social change. Artifact: Journal of Design Practice, Volume 3 (Issue 4), pp 11.1-11.10.


- Choudhury, D., Singh, S., Si Han Seah, J., Chen Loong Yeo, D. and Poh Tan, L., (2020). Commercialization of Plant-Based Meat Alternatives. Trends in Plant Science, (Available from: europepmc.org).



- Fresán, U., Sabaté, J., (2019). Vegetarian Diets: Planetary Health and Its Alignment with Human Health. Advances in Nutrition, Volume 10 (Issue 4), pp. s380-388.



- Salas-Salvadó, J., Becerra-Tomás, N., Papandreou, C., Bulló, M. (2019). Dietary Patterns Emphasizing the Consumption of Plant Foods in the Management of Type 2 Diabetes: A Narrative Review. Advances in Nutrition, Volume 10 (Issue 4), pp. S320-331.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Body of work

Introduction Our lifestyle as intelligent human beings plays a major role in the future of our green planet and it is our responsibility to preserve the earth for the next generation. One the ways to

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page